Reviews for Pointe Royal

  Write a Review
We'd love your feedback! Please take a moment to rate your apartment community and write a review.
Posted On: 1/23/2019

Love and Hate Relationship

I really love the space and the location. Dan in the office is really nice! I hate how dirty the pools always are since that was a selling point. I have even referred others to come and live here. This winter is when it has gotten bad. My heater continuously has gone out. It obviously needs a new part that they have refused to buy. After the at least 6th or 7th call the maintenance man laughed and told me to use a space heater for the night! He tells me at every call that he lives an hour away! So I pay $1200 a month for a place with heat only half the time. I also had no issues with valet trash until just recently they said a bag was torn and heavy. It was not torn. It was heavy but they take it to the side walk and put it in a truck. I’m 4’11” female and was able to easily put it in my car, to the dumpster and throw it up and over into the dumpster. They allow people to drink and smoke at the pool. For them not to live on the property and they complain about children splashing at a pool! They take up the whole pool to throw frisbees, drink all day and don’t excuse themselves to the bathroom, and prevent rent paying residences from enjoying it! I was told pool parties are even listed on Facebook events to the cast public. But I could look over all that, due to quietness, landscaping and location if I could only get my issue fixed. I saw they like to say they don’t know your apartment number on these reviews so 15-20 is mine.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

We will have Joe our maintenance director call you about the maintenance issues. We are sorry for the other issues that you have had.

Posted On: 12/15/2018

Move in woes

I moved in December 4th, 2018. When I went in the office to sign the papers, I found out that my apartment number had been changed without my approval or any prior notice. If it wasn't for the fact that it happened to be a better location I would have been livid. Had to transfer my utilities a second time and it cost me an additional hook up fee. I was given a form to record all things wrong with the apartment so they could be repaired. The washing machine is broken and knocking, the garbage disposal does not work either which means I can't use my kitchen sink. I was told these items would be fixed within the week yet no action has been taken. I like this facility and hope to live here a long time but I am very upset with what has transpired so far. If anyone from the company is monitoring this review, I need these things fixed immediately.
By: Mark     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

We will have Joe our maintenance director call you about the maintenance issues. We are sorry for the other issues that you have had.

Posted On: 12/13/2018

Trash Valet and Staff

The trash valet is very kind to always double check if my trash needs picked up every night even if there is nothing. I have enjoyed the staff so far. They are very kind and personable. My gym card dis not work for a week and they helped accommodate.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thank you for the review and please let us know if we can help you in any way.

Posted On: 12/13/2018

Good location, not so great service

Cons: For the price you pay, there should be dog stations. It's crazy that they don't have those. I don't know where they expect us to throw away our dog poop. Maintenance takes a while to fix requests. There's absolutely no way for you to know there is a package for you at the front. Other apartments would be a notice in your mailbox. They expect you to know when it arrives and get there within a certain time or they send it to the postal office. Which if you order something, I understand, but I had a present sent to me and I didn't know, so how would I know I had a package? Pros: Good location, love the high ceilings and privacy. Parking for the most part is always good. Some of the staff is super nice and some get angry when you ask for help.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

We are sorry to hear that you have had some issues. We may add some dog stations in the near future as we are doing a renovation on the property this year.

Posted On: 12/13/2018

Livable

Apartments are good sized and kept up well. However there is no security provided. Hardly any lighting and no security cameras or garages for vehicles. Trash service many times has ripped my trash open and not cleaned up after themselves, leaving pieces scattered. Just found out as well we are getting charged for the sprinklers that run all the time, even when it is pouring rain. All complaints have been files to management and nothing has been done about it.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

We are sorry to hear that you have had some issues. We may add some dog stations in the near future as we are doing a renovation on the property this year.

Posted On: 12/13/2018

Trash pick up== throwing away dollars

I think the trash water service is overpriced. My water and trash bill are higher than when I lived in a house. Is there any talk of a recycle program? For plastics, bottles, cans etc.
By: Brad     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

We don't not have any plans for recycling at this time. We would like to have this service but do not have any plans yet.

Posted On: 11/2/2018

Not worth the money

I would NOT recommend this property to anyone. When we moved in our apartment had not been made ready or cleaned, and the carpet was in horrible condition needing to be replaced along with a two-page list of things needing attention. It literally looked as though we moved in the day after the previous tenants moved out. Definitely ask to see the exact unit you will be moving into before you sign a lease here (the model is very deceiving). Throughout our few months of living here we dealt with mold, a major ant issue, and a gas leak. We were finally let out of our lease, but fair warning that if you lease unit #8300 in building #13, you’ll most likely be dealing with these same issues. The maintenance supervisor Joe is a nice guy, but if you don’t know what you’re talking about, he will try to take advantage of that and lie to you so they don’t have to spend money to fix things. The grounds are kept up near the office, but once you get into the actual community there is always trash everywhere. The office staff are nice while trying to get you to lease, but once you become a resident they are rude and could care less about you. The only positive thing I have to say about this community, is the Manager, Don is very responsive and does try hard to get matters resolved. Other than that, the customer service at this place is one of the worst I have experienced. Don’t expect to be notified about things going on inside/outside your apartment or followed up with regarding anything. I promise you can find a lot of places in the area that are actually worth the money and care about their residents! Think twice and do your research before signing a lease here!
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Sorry for the issues that you had a hoped that letting you our of your lease would take care of all.

Posted On: 9/3/2018

Ehh

This place is really outdated and dingy. My unit is not in great condition. It has a huge spider problem. My electricity bills have been an average of 350 dollars a month because the air conditioner and washer and dryer are so old. I would not recommend living here. Pay more in rent somewhere else for nicer finishes. You will save money in the long run with energy efficient appliances.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

We are sorry to hear that you have not been happy with some stuff. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay better.

Posted On: 9/1/2018

Living

Wrote a review just a couple of weeks ago. However the maintenance is so weak that they are not able to understand what is normal and what is abnormal working. It is so bad. The Manager responded saying they will take care but no hope. I think this is a hopeless living place, Please do not opt to live in this place.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Please let us know what specific issue that are having and we will get it resolved.

Posted On: 8/25/2018

Amenities and Maintenance

The worst ever experience we have had so far. Living here for the last one month and it seems that all amenities are so old that they make a loud noise and not working in normal condition. Ask for maintenance requests and they are so sloppy that they send someone who is not capable enough to solve any issues. Be prepared to stay in a worst condition home here. It is really uncomfortable and not pleasant.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

We are sorry to hear that you have not had a good experience here. Please let us know what we can go to take care of any outstanding issues.

Posted On: 8/22/2018

Nice community

I have been living here for almost 3 years. I came in on a lease special from a sister complex. I love the location and the school district. Top Notch! The ladies and gents in the office are pretty nice and the landscaping is always nice and neat. The maintenance team always respond In a timely manner. I live in an upgraded apartment with new appliances, but the windows and air condition units need to be upgraded and/or replaced...they are slowly making improvements to the complex..glad to hear the pool area will be upgraded as well. I’d stay another year if they had 3 bedrooms..
By: Sonja Boyd     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thank you for your review. Please let us know what we can do to make this a better place for you

Posted On: 8/22/2018

Points Royal

Livable
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you.

Posted On: 8/22/2018

the best in overland park

management super
By: max and lenore cardozo     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 2/1/2018

So far I am very happy with my unit.

I would recommend Pointe Royal as a good place to live.
By: Jason West     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 1/13/2018

Its one of the very best apartments in Overland Park

I would recommend this apartment. The office staff is great and help a lot with any concerns.
By: Madhusudan Hanagal     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 1/1/2018

Pointe Royal

Quick and easy application process. Best bang for your buck in the area too.
By: Tyler Herbold     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 12/2/2017

nice and quite

I have lived in a lot of apartments in the overland park area and this place makes it feel like a home. Office staff are friendly and helpful. they are great at their jobs and they stay on top of things and i'm grateful for that. I love how dog friendly everyone is. Every maintenance issue we have ever had has gotten fixed in a timely matter. I love living here. I have no complaints.
By: Allegra Brooks     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 11/15/2017

Be very proactive

Maintenance staff is great When my a c compressor died on a Saturday in July, they arranged to install a new unit on Sunday morning to avoid my suffering the heat However, the leak in my roof was not repaired by an outside firm after 10 months of complaints Beware of verbal statements by office staff. Only the written documents will apply, and they will demand you initial paragraphs that are flat wrong This could cause issues. If they make an error on a document, they call it an honest mistake. But if you don't follow the exact rules, you get burned. I never received a single written document that didn't contain some kind of substantive error, so check everything carefully and insist that errors be corrected before you sign. I was pleased that my rent increased only 25 when the lease was renewed for a second year. I found it extremely inconvenient that all mailed or delivered packages had to be picked up at the office two blocks away instead of delivery to my door.
By: Iris Schlabach     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 11/13/2017

Decent but outdated

It's nice not having anyone live above or below you, but when you move in it's obvious that the maintenance cleaning crew just spot cleans everything. Units are pretty outdated, but the grounds are nice and it's affordable enough for Overland Park.
By: Nate Ogroske     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 9/27/2017

I''ve been here a year

My building is quiet. I like the open space outside of my patio. It is very pet friendly. Overall I enjoy living here. Maintenance issues are usually responded to within a couple of days. However, if it is a more complicated issue it can drag out for a long time to get proper resolution.
By: Clare Goldt     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 8/30/2017

Great Place

I find Pointe Royal to be a safe place that I can afford. My maintenance issues are seldom and often fixed next day or within the week. Neighbors are nice and there is always parking available. My unit is satisfactory. Small and quaint which is how I like living space, but bigger units were available. No bug problems at all which is important to me. Also they are pet friendly
By: Christopher Zapletal     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 8/14/2017

location

Fun
By: Robert Brewer     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 7/23/2017

Excellent Customer Service, Property Needs Updating

The staff and maintenance personnel are extremely responsive and helpful. They work hard to address problems if when they arise and do so quickly. It is a quiet complex, I've had zero issues with neighbors or noise or anything like that. Plenty of parking, nice community facilities. The only issue is the property is beginning to show its age and needs some updating. But overall, my experience so far 7 months has been very good.
By: Mark Teerink     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 6/22/2017

Great, beginning process was tough with staff.

It's great, maintenance and grounds do a very good job
By: Kelsey Swiggart     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 5/31/2017

Nice, Spacious and quiet.

Chill, quiet, town house style apartments and 2 pools
By: Mike Rattenne     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 5/19/2017

Perfect place to call home

I have enjoyed living here for 2 years. The area is very safe and the beautiful landscaping is a huge plus. I've never had a problem with parking and maintenance is always quick to fix any problems. Also, the rental price is a steal compared to major cities and the apartment complex is basically 5-10 mins away from everything you need - walmart, target, mall, post office, starbucks, shopping, etc. I will be so sad to leave here but I will definitely consider returning one day
By: Tina Vu     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 5/3/2017

Great location, landscape, and quiet.

I have lived here for eight years, and have occupied four different floor plans I know sounds crazy Each time was an upgrade in size or a location change. Every time the staff was understanding and helpful. I love that no one lives above me, grilling on my own patio, walking my dog in,a safe environment and a maintenance who is friendly and dependable.
By: Brenda Senatore     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 3/30/2017

Good place to live

I just moved in for two months. The staff is nice and kind. Since Target is nearby, it is convenient to purchase what you need at most of the time.
By: Yeh Jam     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 2/5/2017

Great Place - Value For Money

Its been a few months for us here. We have found this place to be value for money especially with the Town Homes set up. The construction is old but maintenance is good and timely.
By: Milind Modak     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 2/2/2017

The property is gorgeous, I love living here.

I love living here because it is quiet, it's beautiful and the staff is remarkable. It is a wonderful home community and I am proud to have friends come visit and utilize the amenities. It's very comfortable and a perfect location for all my favorite shops and stores. I highly recommend it for a short stay or for many years.
By: Tina Sims     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 12/8/2016

Friendly staff, Affordable rates, grounds well maintained

My husband and I moved into our apartment after selling our home. We really like it here. The staff is friendly and easy to get a hold off. The grounds are maintained beautifully, and we enjoy the green space from our little patio. The apartment was clean, and is laid out well. Our only complaint is insulation. We added weather stripping and window kits to help keep the cold air out of our unit.
By: David Driver     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 10/29/2016

Wonderful place to live

Quiet atmosphere, great layouts, great landscaping. I loved living here. I think the windows, ac unit and furnace are not as efficient as they could be, so the utilities are a little high imo. But I enjoyed living here more than any other apartment setting I've lived in. I had no problems when I moved out either as far as being charged for anything ridiculous. If you leave the place how you got it, you shouldn't have a problem.
By: Christina Senne     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 9/1/2016

Better community staff with more affordable costs

From the first day I knew I would hardly eve have an issue here and when I did it would be promptly taken care of. I have not been disappointed. It is such a relief to live at a place that actually takes care of their tenants.
By: Joel Sweeney     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 6/22/2016

Great place to live

I have had no problems that weren't easily remedied, little maintenance items that were quickly taken care of and dealt with. Would recommend this complex for living.
By: Michele Brothers     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 5/9/2016

I FELT RIGHT AT HOME BEFORE I EVEN MOVED IN....

SINCE FINDING POINTE ROYAL I HAVE BEEN SO AT HOME, SO PEACEFUL, AND I DON'T THINK I HAVE BEEN THIS HAPPY IN A LONG, LONG TIME. I AM EXTREMELY PROUD OF WHERE I LIVE NOW AND FEEL SAFE. THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO CALL HOME FOR AS LONG AS YOU RENT I WOULD RECOMMEND POINTE ROYAL NOT ONLY FOR ITS BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS, BUT FOR THE AMENITIES AS WELL. I MIGHT EVEN STAY ANOTHER YEAR
By: Julie Geyer-olson     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 4/14/2016

Great community to live in. Peaceful and quiet.

I'd say yes.
By: Arpit Mehta     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 4/4/2016

Property has fit my needs.

If I required and extended stay, I would consider this property as a nice place to reside with my family.
By: Brett Snyder     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 4/1/2016

excellent

dog poop and dogs without leash are a nuisance
By: Supreeta Bariya Shanker     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 3/2/2016

Great place to live

I love that the walls are not too thin. That is something that I always have had an issue with in the past with other complexes. Someone is always available to answer a question when I call up to the office. I would like some more parking spaces available, but overall I am really enjoying living at Pointe Royal.
By: Anne Kwon     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Posted On: 1/29/2016

Great experience

This place is very quiet Does not feel like living in a rental property
By: Elizabeth Warth     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thanks you for the nice review of us.

Overall Rating

4 out of 5 stars

Ratings By Category

Parking
4 out of 5 stars
Amenities
4 out of 5 stars
Maintenance
4 out of 5 stars
Staff
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Location
4.5 out of 5 stars
Noise
4.5 out of 5 stars
top rates apartments in the country, top rated apartments in overland park, top rated apartments in kansas city, top rated three bedrooms, three bedrooms with garage, best managed apartments, one bedrooms in overland park, two bedrooms in overland park, three bedrooms in overland park, washer and dryer included, highly ranked apartments, top ranked apartments in op ks, opks apartments